Mount Ida College Athletics

Emily Stagnaro

Emily Stagnaro

Year of Graduation: Freshman
Sport: Women’s Volleyball
Major: Veterinary Technology
Hometown: Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
Position: Libero

 

Who is your favorite pro athlete?

 

I don’t really watch a lot of athletics. My dad really likes to watch sports, but I don’t. I watch horse racing. I like horses, and it’s the easiest horse sport to follow. So I follow some horses from their beginning of their careers until they retire. I followed California Chrome, and it was really exciting when he won (the 2014 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes).

Why did you choose Mount Ida?

I went to a small high school, and I wanted to go to a small college. I visited a few big schools in California and didn’t like it. There are a lot more small schools on the east coast, and once I decided I wanted to play volleyball and what I wanted to major in, then I looked for schools that fit that, and I found Mount Ida. I wasn’t recruited until late in the process because I didn’t know if I was going to go to a small college or a big one. Once I decided I wanted to play volleyball in college, Craig reached out to me.

What is your favorite moment so far as a Mustang student-athlete?

I really like going to tri-matches because I get to see different parts of the East Coast. I enjoy going to the different schools and seeing the different campuses, but there’s none that make me think I would have rather gone there than to Mount Ida.


What’s your favorite food? TV Show? Music artist? Movie?

Strawberries / Dexter / Panic! at the Disco / Captain America: Civil War


When not playing your sport, what do you like to do for fun?

I like to draw, especially to draw horses. Traditional, pencil and paper and watercolors. I have a lot of animals at home so I like to spend time with them too.


What is something most people don’t know about you?

All through high school I volunteered at an aquarium (Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, Calif.). I did education about the animals. I really liked being at the shark exhibit because a lot people are afraid of sharks and I got to convince a lot of kids to pet sharks even though they were afraid. The shark exhibit was the biggest draw there.

What would be your dream job?

Working with horses and doing physical therapy for horses.

What’s the best thing about the Division 3 experience?

Academics are really important. I have been balancing time and the commitment to the team. I’ve had to adjust my time schedule. I’m spending more time on academics than I thought. Athletics is a break and it keeps me on a schedule because I know when I’ll have time to do homework.

Who is someone that has been an inspiration or a role model in your life?

My mom. She always keeps me on track with my work and helped me a lot with my recruiting process. It was really difficult because I had school work, soccer, and I had to balance a lot of sports and school with that. I played soccer, volleyball and softball while in high school (soccer was in December in California).


What are some words that you think your teammates would use to describe you?

Quiet and sarcastic.